Focus Care

29 June, 2019

New Aged Care Standards effective from July 1

Aged care providers will be assessed under new standards from July, meaning big changes for the whole industry. Here's what you need to know about it.

An elderly woman smiling directly into the camera.Aged care providers across Australia will be assessed under new aged care standards from July aimed at ensuring better industry-wide outcomes for clients.

Whereas existing standards focus on the expectations that organisations are expected to meet, the new standards focus on aged care recipient’s personal goals for their care and the outcomes, reflecting the level of care and services the community expects from providers of Commonwealth subsidised aged care services.

The new standards take effect across the country on July 1.

What's the difference between the old standards and the new standards?

The big change is that the new Aged Care Quality Standards are all about aged care recipients playing a central role in the type and direction of aged care services they receive.

Simply put, the standards make it easier for aged care recipients and their loved ones to check they’re receiving good care. In the wake of the Aged Care Royal Commission, it’s clear that high-quality care needs to be about providers empowering recipients in the decision-making process.

What the standards mean for you

In practice, the new standards ensure that aged care providers have staff that are friendly, respectful, and responsive to the particular needs of clients. Under the new standards, staff also need to make sure clients are well cared for, that staff know their jobs well, and are part of an organisation that is well-run.

This focus on the client is present throughout the 8 new standards, with each listing a consumer outcome and phrased from the client’s perspective. Here they are:

1. Consumer dignity and choice

“I am treated with dignity and respect, and can maintain my identity. I can make informed choices about my care and services, and live the life I choose.”

2. Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers

“I am a partner in ongoing assessment and planning that helps me get the care and services I need for my health and well-being.”

3. Personal care and clinical care

“I get personal care, clinical care, or both personal care and clinical care, that is safe and right for me.”

4. Services and supports for daily living

“I get the services and supports for daily living that are important for my health and well-being and that enable me to do the things I want to do.”

5. Organisation's service environment [this Standard only applies to residential care organisations]

“I feel I belong and I am safe and comfortable in the organisation’s service environment.” This standard only applies to residential care.

6. Feedback and complaints

“I feel safe and am encouraged and supported to give feedback and make complaints. I am engaged in processes to address my feedback and complaints, and appropriate action is taken.”

7. Human resources

“I get quality care and services when I need them from people who are knowledgeable, capable and caring.”

8. Organisational governance

“I am confident the organisation is well run. I can partner in improving the delivery of care and services.”

For aged care recipients or their loved ones, if there is a feeling that any of these standards are not being met it’s important to let us know.

We welcome any feedback you may have and pride ourselves on exceeding the needs and expectations of all our clients.

For those that would like to find out more about the new standards, additional information can be found by clicking here.

Like this story? Share it with others.

You may also like these stories

Dot accent Smile accent

What’s your focus?

From every day support, to clinical care and social activities, talk to a friendly member of our team today about how we can work towards your goals.

How it works

  • 1

    We’ll visit your home to get to know you, your goals and your specific needs

  • 2

    We'll work with you to design your services

  • 3

    You'll be matched with a support worker, and your journey will begin